< Go Back

Instructional Standards

An Introduction to Standards-Based Teaching and Learning

What are instructional standards?

Instructional standards are guidelines for what a student should be able to know and do in a particular subject area. 

What are the Common Core State Standards (CCSS)?

Common Core State Standards (CCSS) are standards in English language arts and mathematics that were developed at a national level and have been adopted by most states in the U.S.  They are designed to provide more consistency for students and ensure students are ready for college and careers.

What is the Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium (SBAC)?

The Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium (SBAC) is one of two multi-state consortia awarded funding from the U.S. Department of Education in 2010 to develop an assessment system aligned to CCSS by the 2014-15 school year. Click here to learn more.


To learn more about these and other topics, please visit the links on this page, or contact the Office for School Performance at 503-844-1500.

Terms Of Use | Privacy Statement | A-Z Site Index

Hillsboro School District (map)
3083 Northeast 49th Place
Hillsboro, OR 97124
(503) 844-1500

©2017 Hillsboro School District
All Rights Reserved