< Go Back

Staff News

Awards and Recognition

Congratulations to our award-winning staff and students! Here is the latest:

The 2015 FIRST LEGO League state robotics competition was fun and rewarding for the seven HSD teams who qualified. Three came away with second-place honors: South Meadows Middle School's Engineering IT Like a Girl (robot programming), and the Imlay neighborhood's Marvelous Martians (robot mechanical design) and Robo Raiders (Core Values Inspiration Award).

Also competing were Poynter Middle School’s Trashbusters, Farmington View Elementary’s Animalz, Orenco Elementary’s Purple Flaming Trash Cans, and Tobias Elementary's Robo Tigers among the 120 teams from around the state.


Click here to view the full list of awards and recognition for the current school year.

OEA Foundation


2016 Crystal Apple Award Nominees

For the past 11 years, the Hillsboro Chamber of Commerce has honored educators in our community with the annual Crystal Apple Excellence in Education Awards. Nominees are sought in the categories of licensed, support, and administrative staff. Up to three winners are selected in each category and announced at the Crystal Apple Awards Dinner, this year being held on Thursday, February 25, 5:30-8:30 p.m. at the Tuality Health Education Center.

Teachers - Important Update from TSPC

‚ÄčThe Teacher Standards and Practices Commission will not be able to accept new applications or payment from Jan. 1 to Jan. 18 due to transition to a new online licensing system. Beginning Jan. 19, you will need to apply and pay fees online.


Fees: Fees will increase effective Jan. 1, 2016. You can apply six months prior to license expiration – pay the current fee before Dec. 31. To apply by mail, email, fax, or in person and pay by check, cash or money order, TSPC must receive your application by Dec. 31, 5 p.m.


More information is available at: http://www.oregon.gov/TSPC/Pages/index.aspx

Bilingual Teacher Pathway Program

Classified staff are invited to attend an informational meeting on Wed., Jan. 6, 2016, 4 p.m. to 5 p.m., to learn more about the BTP teacher preparation program that leads to a teaching license and ESOL endorsement. Click here for the flyer or view more information about the program and application process at pdx.edu/ci/btp. Applications are due by April 13, 2016.

Did You Know?

Funds can be requested for PLCs to have time to work collaboratively on school improvement goals. Check the form for activities that could qualify, then talk with your principal about your ideas.

PLC collaboration request for Title I schools


Terms Of Use | Privacy Statement | A-Z Site Index

Hillsboro School District (map)
3083 Northeast 49th Place
Hillsboro, OR 97124
(503) 844-1500

©2016 Hillsboro School District
All Rights Reserved