Career Learning Areas Overview

  • Choosing a career learning area is an important way to help clarify your goals, provide you with a relevant selection of elective courses, and prepare you to succeed in post-secondary education and/or careers. By selecting a CLA, you strengthen the opportunity to gain the qualities and skills that are vital for employment and productivity in business, industry and the community.

    The six career learning areas available in HSD are:

    • Agriculture, Food and Natural Resource Systems
    • Arts, Information and Communications
    • Business and Management
    • Health Sciences
    • Human Resources
    • Industrial and Engineering Systems

     Within each CLA are several pathways that direct you to more focused study for specific goals.


Career and College Guides