What is Erin's Law?

  • Erin’s Law requires that all public schools in each state implement a prevention-oriented child sexual abuse program which teaches:

    • Students in grades preK – 12th grade, age-appropriate techniques to recognize child sexual abuse and tell a trusted adult
    • School personnel all about child sexual abuse
    • Parents & guardians the warning signs of child sexual abuse, plus needed assistance, referral or resource information to support sexually abused children and their families

    At Witch Hazel, the School Counselor teaches lessons to all classes quarterly. Lessons for 6th grade were written by the district counseling leadership team. Grades K-5 receive the Second Steps Child Protection Unit. As a parent, you can preview this curriculum at the Second Steps Website using the following access codes:

    • Kindergarten: CPUK FAMI LYGK
    • 1st Grade: CPUK FAMI LYG1
    • 2nd Grade: CPUK FAMI LYG2
    • 3rd Grade: CPUK FAMI LYG3
    • 4th Grade: CPUK FAMI LYG4
    • 5th Grade: CPUK FAMI LYG5


  • Mrs. G

    Ronda Gatewood

    Licensed School Counselor

    Witch Hazel Elementary School

    503-844-1610 x4231



    Make an Appointment via Calendly!


    Follow me on Twitter!