Return to Headlines

HILHI WATER POLO Girls Place 2nd and Boys Place 4th at State Tournament

November 12, 2022 - The Hillsboro High School Water Polo Girls Team played in their first State Championship title game in program history and captured 2nd place at the 2022 5A Oregon State Championships! The Hillsboro Boys Water Polo Team came home with the 4th place trophy for their efforts at the tournament.
Both Hillsboro water polo boys and girls completed great seasons with top four finishes at the 2022 Oregon Water Polo State Tournament in Corvallis for the second year in a row.
The girls won their state playoff game against Cottage Grove 16 – 2 and then proceeded to beat West Albany 13 – 7 in the semi-final to land in the state championship game for the first time ever in program history. After a hard fought championship game, the girls lost to Hood River 5 – 10 to take second place at the state tournament. Co-captains Abby Ness and Julia Kociemba led the team. Abby is their goalie and team MVP who earned second team All-State honors. Julia won first team All-State honors with excellent play throughout the tournament. Other team leaders include offensive sprinter Celia Pilversack, defensive specialist Charlie Smith, and utility player Eden Dickinson, all earning All-State second team honors. The girls have finished third in the tournament three times in 2018, 2019, and 2021.
The boys finished fourth, losing a close game 14 – 16 to West Albany in the third place game. They got into the final four by beating Ashland 24 – 10 in the state playoff game. A loss to eventual champion Summit in the semi-final landed them in the third place game. Captains Caleb Stefan and Noah Nielsen lead this team with Caleb winning All-State second team honors and Noah earning honorable mention. Team MVP Kai Kubo earned All-State first team honors with his excellent play at the tournament. This was the second state tournament appearance for the boys, who brought home the third place trophy last year.
Girls Team: Abby Ness (Captain), Julia Kociemba (Captain), Celia Pilversack, Eden Dickinson, Lindsey Dickinson, Bella Peterson, Natalie Thomas, Kori Foster, Braelyn Hutton, Charlie Smith, Larkin Nielsen, Mia Rosatti, Amanda Bittleston, Lindsey Everton, Kate Medina. Girls Team Coaches are Cam Clitheroe (Head Coach), Kennedy Godfrey, and Larry Dickinson.
Boys Team: Noah Nielsen (Captain), Caleb Stefan (Captain), Kai Kubo, Michael Medina, Brandon Rosatti, Nathaniel Smith, Tanner Dickinson, Carson Bell, Collier Robison, Joshua Nielsen, Wyatt Spangler, Carter Dickinson, Regis Bristol, Henry Hoffman. Boys Team Coaches are Aaron Nielsen (Head Coach), Peter Dickinson, and Larry Dickinson.
Coaches Cam Clitheroe and Larry Dickinson have been growing the Hillsboro water polo program for 17 years. Find out more about Hillsboro Water Polo at or follow us on Instagram.