Through a comprehensive visioning process in the 2011‐12 school year, the District identified the creation of STEM focus schools as one of the educational options it wanted to provide for students. Four elementary schools have been operating as STEM focus schools since the 2012‐13 school year: Farmington View, Groner K-8, Quatama and Tobias. In the 2017-18 school year, Imlay and McKinney were added as well, for a total of six STEM focus schools.